The Journey Begins

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been trying to “wait patiently” for the opportunity to start my “dream job.” While I attended college, they didn’t offer a major in my field of interest. There wasn’t an internship for me to be a part of, or even a single class I could enroll in. No, my dream job is one you, more or less, just have to dive into and figure out along the way. It’s a very demanding, high stress job, and there are no promotions, raises, or days off. In fact, there are not even vacations and you can’t earn even a dime for all the hard work you put into the long days that often include “overtime.” What is this terrible career I’ve chosen to be the field of my dreams, and why would I even want to consider it?

Believe it or not, there are a good number of pros that come with the job even amidst the seemingly endless list of cons: 1. You are the boss; 2. The rewards of the heart outweigh pocket change any day of the week; 3. You get to be part of something truly amazing. These are by no means the only good reasons in the list, for the job I’m speaking of is, of course, parenting.

That’s right, from as far back as I can remember, I’ve always dreamed of being a mother. To be even more specific, a stay at home mother and homemaker. But when you are a single woman, you can’t be a stay at home mom (at least not easily.) And even if I could have pulled it off somehow, my religious belief doesn’t support having a sexual partner outside of marriage and I fully desired to continue in obedience to those Biblical teachings. Being a fulltime homemaker is also especially difficult to do when you are single. I actually had very little time dedicated to the home, though part of this was by choice. I am very much a relational person who is energized by sharing life with others close to me. If I’d chosen to dedicate the time I felt was needed to keep the house how I wanted it (perfect) I would have been forgoing companionship all together and I decided that relationships were more important to me. So, only basic housework saw my face regularly.

I had hoped to dive into fulltime homemaking as soon as I was married, but after our marriage my husband and I agreed that I should continue working as long as possible to build up as much in savings as we could before having children. I even kept working while pregnant until it was about a month prior to my delivery date; but all that is a story for another time. It was a good decision to keep the second income though.

Today, I truly am doing what I have desired most along the road of life. Not everyone gets to say they are living their dream, but when I finally was able to quit my job (which was a good job with wonderful people, I might add) living my dream is just what I’d begun to do. I couldn’t have been more excited, though it would be some time before I could dive into my newest career of keeping the home. I knew caring for a newborn and infant would be demanding, and it has possibly been more so for me than the “average” mother… If there is an average. That also is a story for another day. But, even with all the demands, the rewards are phenomenal! And I’m so happy to be living this life.

But, this is not the only journey that I begin. I’ve known for at least a year that I wanted to begin a blog, but waiting until I was no longer working a full time job seemed like the way to go. However, with so much work going into beginning a blog, this may or may not have been the best choice. I’ll never really know.  Either way, here I am today, starting new journeys, and sharing my dreams through my love of writing! Now, I don’t claim to be a great writer or even a good one, but I do have a passion for it and have since childhood. I’m very excited about the new road ahead and can’t wait to see where it will take me, and even us!

Leave a Reply

